Correctional Professionals Assistance Fund of Indiana Established: July 1, 2009

in response to the 2008 flooding in southern Indiana that affected many staff. 

One of IDOC Commissioner Edwin G. Buss’ first initiatives was the Indiana Correctional Peace Officer Fund (ICPOF) now known as the Correctional Professionals Assistance Fund of Indiana (CPAFI). In the 2009 Session, the General Assembly passed new legislation (IC 11-8-2-14) to support the creation of the Indiana Correctional Peace Officer Fund.  The initial ICPOF Board meeting was held August 13, 2009 in which the original By-Laws were drafted.  To establish funds, each original board member extended personal donations which were followed by early donations from Wabash Valley Correctional Facility through a variety of bake sales, raffles and a generous donation from the WVCF-PLUS Unit.  

First Board Meeting (pictured above) was held on August 13, 2009.

First Board Members

  • Randall Koester, Chair
  • Jack Hendrix, Vice Chair
  • Alan Chapman, Member
  • Rob Carter (DNR), Member
  • Robert Bugher, Member
  • James Kimmel, Member
  • Stacy Doane-Selmier, Member
  • Mark Spratt, Treasurer
  • Michael Dempsey, Member
  • Lisa Salinas, Secretary
  • First assistance payout guideline:  Minimum aid eligibility for emergency situations of $250 per incident, plus $50 per dependent up to a maximum of $500 per incident.


10/14/09: Fund was at $1,451

First Fundraiser: Facility Fundraising Feud

The Fundraising Feud started in March and ran through Tax Day, April 15, 2010

    • $11,497.45 cash raised from the event
    • $6770.20 added from SECC donations
    • for a total of $18,267.65 to support the Fund
    • Wabash Valley Correctional Facility had the largest total donation and Camp Summit had the most donated per employee

First Golf Outing (pictured above)

Valle Vista in Greenwood
May 14, 2010  – Raised over $32,000